Homeschool Law in Georgia
One of the first questions everyone has about home education involves the law. Every state has different regulations. Learning the basics and staying current with proposed legislation is advisable. The pioneers of home education literally risked the removal of their children to pursue home education. Despite the fact that home school statistics show great results for students, some countries still make it very difficult to pursue non-traditional education. Following is general information on the laws in your state. Obtaining copies of the regulations, joining a home school group and/or a legal advocacy organization such as Homeschool Legal Defense Fund or Homeschool Legal Advantage are personal decisions each family must make.
Georgia law requires compulsory attendance at school for children between six and sixteen. The education program is to cover (at least) the basics such as reading, language arts, math, social studies and science for 180 days per year. School days must extend for at least four and one-half hours.
A written notice of intent to home school is to be submitted by September 1st of each year (or within 30 days of beginning a home education program). The notice must include student names and ages, the school year dates and the location of the study program. Attendance records are to be kept and submitted each year to the GA Dept. of Education. Annual progress reports are to be written for each subject (for each child) and kept by the parent for three years.
Home schools include only children of the parent or guardian. Tutors may be employed to teach if they hold a GED or high school diploma. The same requirement (GED or high school diploma) is in place for teaching parents. School superintendents may request (but not require) evidence of compliance with regulations.
Nationally standardized tests are required every three years beginning at the completion of third grade. Tests are to be administered in accordance with those who have experience with norm referenced tests. Tests scores are to be kept by parents and not submitted to public school authorities.
That is a basic rundown of the current Georgia Home Education laws. Don’t be afraid of the requirements. They are simple relative to other states. It is quite easy to start homeschooling in Georgia!